LION Awards

There are presently no open calls for submissions.

Inaugural LION Publishers Awards 2019

The new LION Publishers Awards recognize excellence in journalism, business and technology at local independent online news publishers. The Awards are open to LION members only, except for the LION Service Award, which is open to vendors who serve LION members. Independent judges will put a special emphasis on entries that rise above the ordinary, show an entrepreneurial spirit and provide a blueprint for other publishers in the field. Winners will be announced at the first LION Awards Show at the LION Summit in Nashville in October. Be sure to register for the Summit to be there!

General Eligibility

The LION Awards are open to people who are LION Publishers members in good standing, helping run local independent online news publications. Submissions are also open to employees or freelancers who work for publications run by LION Publishers members. Vendors who have helped serve LION member publications may apply for the LION Service Award. If you are interested in joining LION Publishers, go to our Membership Application page.

Publication Date

The LION Awards are open to editorial work, business initiatives and technological advancements made between July 1, 2018 and July 1, 2019. 


Applications must be received by August 12, 2019 at 11:59 pm Eastern Time.

Entry Fees

Entry fees are $25 for LION Member award categories, and $50 for the Vendor Service Award category plus transaction fees. Payment should be made by credit card or PayPal via the Submittable platform. 

Multiple Entries

If submitting multiple entries (either in the same category or across multiple categories), fill out forms for each category then make your purchase for each entry. There is no limit to the number of entries you can make.